Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Our New House!!...no, no....just kidding...





Just doing a search on Redfin (similar to MLS) and came across this northwest beauty. Just shy of 3 million! It's located in Bridle trails, a La-di-da neighbourhood across from Microsoft. I love the architecture of this house, all the big windows and the spaciousness of it all. It has 5 bedrooms and 4.5 bathrooms, sorry, restrooms if I "speak" American, in 5,375 sq feet! I would be happy with less than half of this house. Better put this on my x-mas list!

Saturday, July 26, 2008

Abby and Kyle go to White Castle



Well actually, Abby went to the grocery store and found these White Castle sliders (little hamburgers) in the frozen foods aisle. Knowing it has been a dream of Kyle's to go to White Castle one day, she bought a box to try. They were pretty good, we shared a box of 6 (Kyle -4, Abby - 2) and must admit we could've eaten the whole box ourselves, great for a snack :) Sorry, only available in the U.S of A.

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Microsoft's Annual Picnic

So besides unpacking since Thursday when all our stuff arrived, we actually got a chance to head out to Microsoft's annual picnic on Sunday. This "picnic" is HUGE! there's free food: ribs, burgers, hotdogs, fries, salad, corn on the cob, chinese food, ice cream, strawberry shortcake and the list goes on...There were lots of entertainment both for kids and adults. For the kids, they set up big bouncies, petting zoo, hay rides, amusement park rides. For the adults, there's rock climbing, mechanical bull riding, X-box zone, RC car racing and free massages!! We spent the day with Kyle's co-worker Phil, his girlfriend Krista and her sister Tori. A fun day had by all :>






Gimme an "M" !! what does that spell? MICROSOFT!!!

Sunday, July 13, 2008

Donut Peaches!!



Ever seen/tried one of these? They just showed up at the local QFC where we shop. I bought 2 to try and they sure don't taste like donuts, but they do taste good. Also called white peaches, I think. Fruits here are definately much better tasting than back home...sigh!

Happy 4th of July!




We "celebrated" independence day by going out for lunch at T.G.I.F, missed the parade, watched WALL-E and later on at 10 p.m watched the fireworks down at the waterfront in Kirkland. It was 20 to 30 mins long and could see all the other fireworks display in the far off distance across Lake Washington. I know what you're thinking looking at the last pic...traitors!!

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

WHAZ...WE MOVZ AGAINZ?!?



We've finally found a rental place to live after much looking around. I've pretty much scouted the whole eastside for apartments, houses and condos and we picked a condo right in downtown Kirkland. Our stuff will be moved next Thurs, then we'll probably move in with the cats around the beginning of August. Will put up pics soon!

Saturday, July 5, 2008

What a treat.....We Have A Surprise Guest Blogger!!

I'd like to welcome my guest blogger...KYLE!!! give it up!!

So, everybody wants to know how is and what is Kyle doing at work?

Kyle said:
Happy belated Canada Day!
Hello everyone, this is my first guest post on Abby's blog. If you
leave comments she will let me post again.
I had to work on Monday (July 1) but Microsoft had poutine in several
of the cafeterias to celebrate. They used up the last of the dark
poutine gravy making mine in the building 31 cafeteria. Yum!!
I have been trying to be useful at my new job. Since my 1.5 days of
NEO (new employee orientation ((..borg chip installed
successfully..))) I have been reading up on all the work in progress
and figuring out who is doing what. Microsoft is so big that no matter
what you think of there are at least of few people independently
working on it! I am in building 35 of the main campus.
The campus is very cool. There are many buildings and if a building is
too far to walk I can call a shuttle. The shuttle is often a Toyota
Prius with a driver. MS provides a bus pass so I can get to work in
about 25 minutes from Kirkland on the bus. I am usually at work from
about 8:30am to 6:10pm but the day flies by. I will be working on a
super secret project so keep watching this blog, I will make
announcements as I can in the future.
There are a lot of meetings here about everything. Strangely people
tend to show up about 5 minutes late for every meeting. I am not sure
why but I am usually the first person in any meeting! I am sure that I
will pick up the habit and start showing up fashionably late to all
future events.
Something very strange happened last week. I bought a ZUNE. I don't
know why. I just felt compelled to visit the employee store and
purchase a ZUNE and Vista ultimate edition. What is happening to me!

Well I hope to see you all soon.
Cheers,
Kyle




Tuesday, July 1, 2008

O CANADA!!!



Happy Canada Day Everyone!!!